In my family, birthday cakes are only one type of cake: carrot cake. My mom’s recipe for carrot cake is moist and flavorful without all the bits of nuts and raisins, like some other carrot cakes you might run into. Not that anything is wrong with walnuts, but I don’t want that in my cake. The raisins I won’t comment on. And who doesn’t love cream cheese frosting?

Since I made this cake for a group of friends who all have birthdays close together, mine included, I thought I would share it with all of you.

2017-07-10 20.25.14
Cake Ingredients

The biggest “annoyance” of making carrot cake? Grating carrots. You need 3 cups of grated carrot. Try to find giant carrots like I did and the job will be a lot easier.

Then assemble like a normal cake. No creaming of butter and sugar for this one, which is awesome.

Then bake! I used two circle cake pans because I felt like being fancy, but normally I use a 9″x13″ pan.

Next up is the frosting!

2017-07-10 21.38.11
Frosting Ingredients

This is also pretty simple: cream cream cheese and margarine together first, then slowly add in powdered sugar so it doesn’t fly all over your kitchen. If you have a stand mixer, I am jealous of you. But hand mixer works just fine. If you really wanted to use a wisk/spatula, go ahead but I would not recommend.

2017-07-10 21.45.22

Final steps are frosting the cake. Like I said, I was making the cake for friends so I tried being kinda fancy. Normally I would just put frosting on top of the cake while it was still in the 9″x13″ pan and call it a day. But not today. Today I attempted a layered cake and while it didn’t quite turn out how I wanted, I am overall happy with it. Also it luckily fit in my fridge!

As always, let me know if you try this recipe. I hope you all enjoy this cake that holds so many lovely childhood memories for me.

Recipe:

Carrot Cake

  • 2 cups flour 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 2 cups sugar 3/4 cup cooking oil
  • 2 tsp baking soda 4 eggs
  • 1 tsp salt 3 cups grated carrots

Preheat oven.  Combine in bowl flour, sugar, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon.  Add oil, eggs, and carrots. Mix together until well blended.   Pour into greased 9 x 12 pan.

Bake at 350 degrees     45 minutes (approx.)

Frosting

  • 1/2 cup margarine
  • 8 oz. cream cheese
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 3 1/2 cups powdered sugar

Cream together margarine, cream cheese, and vanilla.  Add powdered sugar and mix until smooth.  Spread over cooled cake.

***Cut cake and frosting recipes in half for 8 x 8 square pan.

Leave a Reply

