…And a month or so has gone by. Whoops. As I suspected, grad school has taken a toll and I haven’t posted. But its the weekend and while I wait for an experiment to run, I can make another post!

Almost a month and a half ago (bad blogger), I got a chance to make a recipe that my old masters student made for me. I will freely admit, Indian food is not my favorite thing. I have a hard time with curry powder and while spicy food can be quite tasty, I am a bit of a wimp. But this paneer tikka? Oh. My. Gosh. So good. When I asked for the recipe, this link was provided. While the recipe itself is very easy, I did not have a lot of the ingredients and did not want to go out and buy all the specific spices if I couldn’t find other uses for them. I am definitely of the mind that I only want to buy spices that I plan on using a lot. I have way too many in the back of my cupboard that I will never use again after trying for one recipe. So for this post, I will be posting the shortcuts I used that were in my cupboard and readily available at my local grocery store.

2017-06-06 16.55.36
Ingredients you will need

First change: I added some chicken. Yes, I know it is supposed to be a vegetarian meal, but I wanted to make this last a whole week and adding in a bit of chicken extended the recipe a lot.

I also picked the following spices: tumeric, black salt. cumin, thyme, ground coriander, and chili powder. Adding a bit of lime juice was a substitute online for dry mango powder.

First step of this recipe: soaking wooden skewers. I will admit, if I make this again, I would use metal skewers. I just cannot get the wooden ones to not light on fire. But if you plan on using them, soak them in water!

2017-06-06 16.57.47
Skewers, just soaking away

For the marinade, you just mix all of the spices (lime juice and garlic included) into some greek yogurt. I happened to have homemade, but that is more chance than anything else. You definitely want a thick greek yogurt though.

Next is dicing the veggies and chicken. Make sure the pieces are a good size for putting on kebabs.

2017-06-06 17.12.19
Nicely diced for kebabs!

Now here is probably my favorite ingredient of the recipe: paneer. A hard cheese that can stand to be cooked/grilled without completely melting! Now paneer was tricky to find in my grocery store, but I knew halloumi had similar properties.

I put the chicken in one bowl and the veggies in another. The marinade should look something like this. I would recommend letting this sit for as long as possible! I was able to let it soak for a couple of hours before I got too hungry and made dinner.

2017-06-06 17.19.30
yummm….kinda

After letting it marinade, simply make up the skewers and cook in your own way. I am lucky enough to own a grill, so that is what I used!

 

The final step was heating up some naan and that was dinner! Man I loved this meal. Making this post actually makes me want to cook this again. It was very very easy and reheats fairly well. Something a bit different than my normal standards of Italian and American and I think it will make a lovely recipe in the rotation.

If any of you try this recipe, let me know! And thanks again Atul, for sharing this deliciousness with me đŸ™‚

 

Paneer Tikka Kebabs

Adapted from Veg Recipes of India

Ingredients:

For marinade–

  • 200 grams of greek yogurt
  • 1 Tbsp of garlic
  • 1 tsp dried thyme
  • 2 tsp chili powder
  • 1/2 tsp ground tumeric
  • 1 tsp ground cumin
  • 1 tsp ground coriander
  • 3 tsp lime juice
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • 1/2 tsp black salt (if you have it– otherwise just use normal salt)
  • 1 tsp oil

For kebabs:

  • One chicken breast
  • 250 grams of Paneer/Halloumi
  • 1 bell pepper (I like red)
  • 1/2 onion

Directions:

  1. If using wooden skewers, soak them for minimum 30 minutes
  2. For marinade, mix all spices and yogurt together
  3. Evenly dice cheese, veggies, and chicken
  4. Evenly coat everything in the marinade and let sit for as long as possible (two hours is good)
  5. Skewer veggies and chicken. I like to skewer meat separate from veggies to ensure proper cooking time
  6. Cook. I grilled mine, but you could also broil them.
  7. Heat some Naan bread based on package instructions
  8. Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

