My first recipe on this blog! Here goes nothing….

2017-05-31 18.31.52
I love rainbow colored food

I figured it should be one of my own creations, so here it is! Roasted veggie and rice salad.

My favorite thing about this recipe is it can be used to finish up those leftover vegetables that are lingering in your fridge. Whether a good sale caught your eye or you had the best intentions of using up that broccoli… never fear! This recipe is an easy way to find a home for all of that.

Raw salad ingredients
Raw salad ingredients

 

I used corn, mushrooms, sweet potato, broccoli, and red bell peppers this time around. My standard is just the sweet potato, bell pepper, and broccoli, but the mushrooms and corn needed to be used up and here we are. Based on how many veggies you are using, adjust your rice to fit your personal preference (I like about a 50/50 split, so I have 1.5 cups here).

Make the rice to your personal preference. Feel free to switch it up to brown rice or wild rice if you wanted– I just didn’t want to spend the time making brown rice frankly…

Next comes roasting the veggies.

2017-05-31 17.49.03
Ready for the oven!

Dice up the veggies and give them a liberal coating of oil. I also added salt, pepper, and garlic powder. Make sure to cut the sweet potato in small pieces– it is going to take the longest to cook!

(For my extra additions of mushrooms and corn, I used different approaches. Mushrooms were pan friend and corn was tossed on the grill in some foil!)

Then comes the oven– 425 degF works best for my temperamental apartment oven. Make sure to rotate the pans and move the veg around so you don’t end up with burnt bits! For me, it takes about 40 minutes to get the desired amount of color while actually cooking the sweet potato all the way through.

2017-05-31 18.25.38
yummmmmmmmmm

Next comes a dressing. No salad is worth its salt without some type of dressing (imho) and I enjoy making my own. If you have a favorite vinaigrette based dressing you would rather use, go right ahead. My favorite is a mix up of a few different Greek salad dressings.

2017-05-31 17.58.19
Salad Dressing Ingredients

I must admit, I normally use olive oil for this recipe. But guess what I forgot to buy at the store… so I made do with what I had. Still tasted good, though I will be going back to the olive oil next time.

After making the dressing, it should look something like this…

2017-05-31 18.12.36
Look at that nicely emulsified dressing!

Remember to add the oil slowly so your dressing doesn’t break. I add an excessive amount of oregano because I find it delicious.

Last ingredient? Goat cheese! For me this adds a little bit of tang.

Mix everything together while still warm, so the dressing can absorb into the rice and veg. The goat cheese will slightly melt and add to the dressing in a lovely, creamy way.

2017-05-31 18.32.32
The way I like to serve it– with an extra sprinkle of cheese on top!

And there you have it! A relatively quick vegetarian meal that lasts very well in the fridge and makes excellent pack lunch. Perfect for a graduate student, who is trying to be good about bringing lunch and not just eating out…

Let me know if you make this in the comments below! If you have any suggestions on details to include in future posts, let me know those too. I am new to all this and am open to suggestions!

That’s all for now– happy cooking!

 


 

Roasted Veggie and Rice Salad

Ingredients:

For the salad:

  • Various veggies (preferably ones that will hold up to roasting in the oven)
    • Ex: 2 sweet potatoes, 2 bell peppers, 1 head of broccoli florets
  • Rice (I use 1.5 cups)
  • ~2 oz crumbled goat cheese
  • salt, pepper, garlic powder
  • light oil (canola, grape seed, etc.)

For the dressing:

  • 2 tsp dijon mustard
  • 1/4 cup red wine vinegar
  • 1/2 freshly squeezed lemon juice
  • 1 cup olive oil
  • 1-2 Tbsp oregano
  • salt & pepper (& optional clove of garlic)

Steps:

  1. Preheat oven to 425 degF
  2. Cook rice to package instructions
  3. Evenly dice veggies and toss with salt, pepper, oil, and garlic powder
  4. Evenly spread veggies on a baking tray and roast, tossing occasionally, until nicely brown (~40 minutes)
  5. For the salad dressing:
    1. mix Dijon mustard, seasoning, vinegar, and lemon juice together in a small bowl
    2. SLOWLY whisk in the oil in a steady stream until completely incorporated
  6. While still warm, evenly mix the veggies and rice together in a large bowl
  7. Add dressing in small quantities until desired amount is added
  8. Mix in goat cheese crumbles
  9. Serve warm, or cold in a pack lunch the next day!
Leave a Reply

